Free Shipping in Canada with $50+ purchase!

Ancient Light & Wisdom

Healing Stones for the 7 Major Chakras

Chakras (“wheel” in Sanskrit) are seen as spinning energy centers located in various parts of the body that control and regulate different aspects of our physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual well-being. As well as spinning wheels, chakras can be visualized as lotus petals or in a diamond formation. While we cannot see Chakras with our physical eyes, we’re able to sense, see, feel, and hear them with individual intuitive gifts.

When our Chakras become blocked or imbalanced, we can find ourselves feeling slightly off, drained, and just not quite right. When this happens, it can be helpful to work with the vibrational frequencies of healing stones to bring the Chakras back into alignment.

The idea behind crystal healing is that stones or crystals have their own natural healing frequencies that can help balance the energy in their surroundings. For example: chakra stones each have a unique vibrational signature that aligns with specific energy centers in the body.

When working with healing stones we need to look at:

  • Vibrational signatures
  • Healing qualities requires
  • The size and shape of a stone (neither too large, nor to pointy)
  • Intuition on which stone calls out to you

While some people would give you a list of healing stones that are blue, matching the Throat Chakra, it’s more important to look at whether or not it’s the right energy for that space and for you. We all react to the stones a little differently so what may work for me, might not work for you.

Let’s look into the 7 Chakras in more detail.

First Chakra: Root or Base Chakra

Development Age: in-uterus to 6 months.  
Element: Earth. 

Located at the base of the spine, it is associated with the kinesthetic senses (sense of body position), proprioceptive (sense of body movement) and tactile (touch) senses.  It is related to our will to live; our sense of belonging and trust; organization; supplies the body with physical vitality.

What gemstones & crystals for good for balancing the Root or Base Chakra?

  • Red Uvite
  • Black Tourmaline
  • Hematite (with or without Quartz)
  • Mookite Jasper
  • Crocoite
  • Guangdong Tektite
  • Red Garnet
  • Smokey Quartz

Second Chakra: Sacral Chakra 

Development Age: 6 months to 2 ½ years. 
Element: Water. 

Located 2” below the navel, it connects to sensing emotions.  Related to our sensuality, sexuality, and creativity; pleasure, abundance and well-being; supplies the immune system with lots of energy.

What gemstones & crystals for good for balancing the Sacral Chakra?

  • Carnelian
  • Tangerine Quartz
  • Fire Agate
  • Imperial Topaz
  • Orange Kyanite
  • Ethiopian Opal

Third Chakra: Solar Plexus Chakra

Development Age: 2 ½ years to 4 ½ years.
Element: Fire, Third Ear. 

Located at the costal arch. Energizes the nervous system and is associated with intuition (gut feelings & clairsentience & psychic sensitivity) and personal power; the inner fire that creates and destroys.

What gemstones & crystals for good for balancing the Solar Plexus Chakra?

  • Yellow Kunzite
  • Citrine
  • Amblygonite
  • Bumble Bee Jasper
  • Libyan Desert Glass
  • Heliodor or Golden Beryl
  • Yellow Tourmaline
  • Yellow Apatite
  • Yellow Smithsonite

Fourth Chakra: Heart Chakra

Development Age: 4 ½ years to 6 ½ year. 
Element: Air, Ether. 

Located at the centre of the body next to the physical heart is the heart centre.  It relates to our sense of compassion, community, nature, love, family, friendship, purity, and innocence. Specifically, the front aspect is related to love and the back to will.

What gemstones & crystals for good for balancing the Heart Chakra?

  • Pink Tourmaline
  • Green Tourmaline
  • Kunzite or Hiddenite
  • Rose Quartz
  • Ruby
  • Emerald
  • Green Uvite
  • Phosphosiderite
  • Rhodochrosite
  • Dioptase
  • Morganite

Fifth Chakra: Throat Chakra 

Development Age: 6 ½ years to 8 ½ year.  
Element: Ether, Sound.  

Throat is associated with the sense of hearing, tasting, and smelling.   Related to giving and receiving and speaking our truth; communication, self-expression, purity, ethics, expanded consciousness, and complete harmony; clairaudience (clear hearing); clairgustance (clear tasting).

What gemstones & crystals for good for balancing the Throat Chakra?

  • Aquamarine
  • Larimar
  • Blue Lace Agate
  • Blue Kyanite
  • Blue Topaz
  • Chrysocolla
  • Angelite
  • Celestite
  • Amazonite
  • Aqua Aura Quartz

Sixth Chakra: Third Eye Chakra

Development Age: 8 ½ years to 14 years. 
Element: Thought.  

Located between, and about one finger-breadth above, the eyebrows. It is accessed from the forehead and the back of the head.  Associated with the sense of sight, and intuition (clairvoyance); magnetic forces, dissolution of duality, memory, realization,  imagination, discernment, and human beings seeing themselves as a unity here – consciousness, super consciousness/ higher self, and the inner self mind flow together.  The front aspect is associated with conceptual learning and the back to linear processing for completion of tasks.  

What gemstones & crystals for good for balancing the Third Eye Chakra?

  • Blue Tourmaline
  • Tanzanite
  • Blue Kyanite
  • Blue Uvite
  • Lapis
  • Lazulite
  • Azurite
  • Blue Sheen Obsidian

Seventh Chakra: Crown Chakra

Development Age: 14 years to 21 years.
Element: Light. 

Located at the top of the head, it is represented by the thousand petal lotus.  It is associated with the experience of direct knowing (claircognizance).  Is related to the integration of personality with spirituality, spiritual bliss, beauty, and harmony; the individual consciousness connects with the cosmic consciousness here (Christ consciousness); channeling (a person who allows his/her body and mind to be used as a mechanism for etheric world intelligence to bring psychic information or healing to others.)

What gemstones & crystals for good for balancing the Crown Chakra?

  • Amethyst
  • Danburite
  • Sugilite
  • Herkimer Diamond
  • Goshenite
  • Clear Tourmaline
  • Petalite
  • Apophyllite

How do I use my chakra healing stones?

Once you’ve found the healing stones for you to bring your Chakras back into balance it’s time to start using them. This can be done in a variety of ways including:

  • Meditation
  • Placing the stones on your body in a crystal healing  or crystal surgery session
  • Creating a crystal grid
  • Wearing them either in a pocket or around the neck

Do I need to charge/activate my chakra healing stones?

Yes, you’ll want to charge your Chakra healing stones each time you use them to ensure that negative energy wasn’t left behind during your last session with them.

Charging your healing stones can be done by:

  • Placing under moonlight
  • Soaking in salt water (for a limited time)
  • Placing it under running water
  • Covering in a bowl of rice
  • Connecting them to your spirit guides
  • Cho Ku Rei/ Power Symbol in Reiki

Energy Healing with Chakra Stones

We all have energetic blocks and imbalances from time to time that can make us feel scattered and worn down. Thankfully, getting our Chakras back in balance can be done with the help of energy healing and chakra stones.

If you would like help picking out Chakra healing stones, check my Facebook page and/or subscribe to my newsletter to be notified of upcoming Crystal Sales.